DRAFT: Adding, Editing and Deleting Services
Your Open ACU account needs to have at least one Service choice. This is because every schedule block must be assigned one or more Service choices. To add a Service, you’ll go to the left-hand side menu and click Appointments —> Services:
Service choices
Service choices will allow patients to select which service they'd like to schedule. You will choose patient restrictions for each service:
- New patient: only new patients can schedule this Service
- Existing patient: New patients cannot schedule this Service; it's only available to someone who's already been to the clinic
- Everyone: anyone can schedule, new or existing patients
- No portal: this Service does not appear as an option on the Patient Portal, but is visible on the admin portal
Adding a Service
To add a new Service, click the Add a New Service button:
You will then create your Service in the Service Editor box. Add the following details for each service:
- Service Title: this will appear on the admin and patient portals, so make your title short and descriptive
- Service Minutes: this will determine how much time a Service will take up on the schedule, and not necessarily the length of the entire appointment. For example, a "Community Acupuncture" Service might take up 10 minutes on the schedule, but the appointment length might be an hour. In this case, you'd choose 10 minutes for your Service Minutes. The Service Minutes options in the drop down menu are based on the Slot Time Settings that you saved on your Settings page.
- Who Can Book: select which patients you want to be able to book this Service: Existing Patients, New Patients, Everyone, or No Portal (hidden on the patient portal but still visible on the admin side)
- Click the Telehealth box to make this a virtual appointment (must include a URL where the patient will join the Telehealth appointment)
Click Save to save your new Service.
Editing a Service
To make changes to an existing Service, find your Service on the list on the Services page, and click Edit.
The Service Editor box will open on the right hand side of the page. In the Service Editor box, you can change the Service title, minutes, who can book, and telehealth options:
Click Save to save the changes to your Service.
Deleting a Service
To make changes to an existing Service, find your Service on the list on the Services page, and click Edit.
The Service Editor box will open on the right hand side of the page. Click the red Delete button to delete your service. Once you delete a Service, it will not be available for any future schedule blocks. It will still appear on existing blocks that have already been scheduled.



